IMG_0126.JPG

I knoooooooowwww!!!!! Soup in the summer? What am I thinking? I’m crazy enough as is, but this soup isn’t the reason. I made this the first time several months ago using simple ingredients I had on hand. It was for supper and I decided on lentil soup because they are super good for you and I added blackstrap molasses on a whim because it’s high in iron. I generally have low iron so it’s important to me to get in as much as I can in as many ways.

Now I know this way seem like a strange time to share this recipe because soup isn’t generally a summer food, but in this case I have to disagree. This soup is actually a great summer meal and here’s why: 1. Soup is super easy to make, and low maintenance so one it’s simmering you can leave it alone while you do whatever else you want 2. If it’s rainy where you are like has been here this summer the warmth will give you that warm feeling you’re supposed to have in the summer 3. It also means you don’t have to turn on your oven which really helps cool things down. So I hope I’ve convinced you because this soup is super easy and very nutritious. Not to mention the molasses cooking will make your kitchen smell wonderful.

serves 4 Ingredients

1/2 large sweet onion
4 large garlic cloves
1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil
1 cup green lentils
5 cups water
3 tbsp blackstrap molasses
4 dashes of black pepper or to taste
1/2 tsp salt or more to taste
2-3 dashes paprika
dash of cayenne
4-5 dashes of turmeric
2 dashes of cumin

Instructions

Dice your onion and mince garlic and add them to a large pot along with the olive oil. Cook on medium heat stirring occasionally. Continue for 4-5 minutes.

Wash your lentils and add them to the pot along with the water, molasses and spices and stir well to incorporate. Increase the heat to high and bring to a boil and let it cook here for 4-5 minutes.

Reduce the heat to medium low and leave the pot uncovered and let it simmer on this heat for around 20-25 minutes. Stir occasionally but other than that you can leave it alone for the most part.

Serve when you’re ready or store in the fridge for 5 days.

IMG_0129

